CSS Conditionals

Hey! It aint that hard!
Post Reply
Don_U
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Posts: 766
Joined: 08/03/09, 10:33 am
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.
Contact:

CSS Conditionals

Post by Don_U » 03/17/10, 5:05 am

Does a CSS conditional statement mean that everytime an IE product requests the URL all IE browsers identify the conditional THEN are checked for version info. sheeeesh.

Wouldn't PHP $user_agent be as quick?
I never look back, dahling, it distracts from the now -Edna Mode
Beware of men in white vans at the freeway off ramps selling discount America. It is defective,
contains lead, and is not made here.
Robotic Undertones

Gerry
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 5727
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by Gerry » 03/17/10, 7:52 am

small correction: $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']

Don_U
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Posts: 766
Joined: 08/03/09, 10:33 am
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.
Contact:

Post by Don_U » 03/17/10, 12:38 pm

syntax bitch :lol:

The question still remains.....
I never look back, dahling, it distracts from the now -Edna Mode
Beware of men in white vans at the freeway off ramps selling discount America. It is defective,
contains lead, and is not made here.
Robotic Undertones

Gerry
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 5727
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by Gerry » 03/18/10, 7:12 am

I think I answered your question when I demonstrated that not everybody knows how to use PHP, so the css-conditionals offer an alternative. HA HA bitch! lol, just jokes, I know you know how to use php but seriously there are a lot out there who don't or don't have access to write and run php scripts. Also this shifts the execution from server to client side so that my have benefits in some situations.

Post Reply