IBM HDD

Got my hammer out, and now I'm gonna open the box
Dark Shadow
Senior Member (Entitled To Root Beer)
Senior Member (Entitled To Root Beer)
Posts: 860
Joined: 12/09/01, 12:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dark Shadow » 06/29/02, 8:05 am

I have that dang HDD someone said was good... I'm trying to install it as my primary drive off of an ATA card. When I did finally get it jumpered correctly on the ATA card, it comes up as drive 0,1 and my one that hooks into the MB comes up as 0,0. Now, so far, so good right? Wrong. This IBM HDD always comes up as HDDO and the one hooked into my MB always comes up as HDD1. Hence, the IBM one always gets defaulted to C. Dang thing. Now, that's not all. My Maxtor that hooks into the MB now only runs at DMA mode 2 instead of 5. What the (H. E. Double hocky stick)!! Someone tell me what is going on? I've jumpered the thing in about 8 different configs. Even when I make the IBM the SLAVE on the ATA card, it STILL comes up as HDD0.

JohnT
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 2486
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: Vladivostok, Russia
Contact:

Post by JohnT » 06/29/02, 10:44 am

Go to the IBM site ....<a href="http://www.storage.ibm.com/hdd/support/ ... m">HERE</a> and look. If you can't find the answer call HDD tech support. They are really helpful and knowledgable. I found it to be a good experience. The first HDD I purchased had corrupt sectors and wouldn't let me install, so I called them up to verify the problem and then returned it. The jumper configs can get you crazy, so take a moment to research your particular configs. Make sure your bios settings are as you want.
You never mentioned your OS and how you want your drives setup.
Do you have a Maxtor setup disk? Do you have the IBM setup disk? Why an HDD card? Using a card tells me that your mobo only came with one plug-in, which makes it by default the primary HD. In your bios you can decide which peripheral is the first boot device. There are too many parameters to list. You'll have to say what it is your trying to accomplish with your set-up.

_________________
"You can fill a horse with water, but you can't make him sink."



<font class=editedby>[ This Message was edited by: JohnT on 2002-06-29 20:36 ]</font>

bob
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 7565
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Post by bob » 06/29/02, 11:45 am

<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: "You can fill a horse with water, but you can't make him sink."

The wateryer he is, the sinkier he gets</font></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode End -->
WYSIWTF

JohnT
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 2486
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: Vladivostok, Russia
Contact:

Post by JohnT » 06/29/02, 12:40 pm

<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: <!-- BBCode Quote Start --><TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font class=postbody>Quote:</font><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT class=quote><BLOCKQUOTE>
On 2002-06-29 19:45, bob wrote:
<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: "You can fill a horse with water, but you can't make him sink."

The wateryer he is, the sinkier he gets</font></td></tr></table><!-- BBCode End -->

</BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode Quote End -->
No, then he becomes waterLOGGED, hence he floats.</font></td></tr></table><!-- BBCode End -->

_________________
"You can fill a horse with water, but you can't make him sink."

<font class=editedby>[ This Message was edited by: JohnT on 2002-06-29 20:41 ]</font>

bob
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 7565
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Post by bob » 06/29/02, 12:47 pm

<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: Waterlogged items don't float, John... they sink. Try throwing a piece of paper into a bowl of water. It floats until the pores of the paper, which contain air at first, become inundated with water and down it goes.... Same for wood.... water replaces the air in the pores... With regard to your horse.... it'll sink like a stone as soon as the gases inside are replaced with water</font></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode End -->



<font class=editedby>[ This Message was edited by: bob on 2002-06-29 20:49 ]</font>

JohnT
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 2486
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: Vladivostok, Russia
Contact:

Post by JohnT » 06/29/02, 1:57 pm

Blah, blah, blah. Look at my caps. Logged......get it. Log=wood=float.
"A man may be a fool and not know it, but not if he is married."

JohnT
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 2486
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: Vladivostok, Russia
Contact:

Post by JohnT » 06/29/02, 1:59 pm

[quote]
On 2002-06-29 20:47, bob wrote:
<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: Waterlogged items don't float, John... they sink. Try throwing a piece of paper into a bowl of water. It floats until the pores of the paper, which contain air at first, become inundated with water and down it goes.... </font></td></tr></table><!-- BBCode End -->

Unless it's laying on top of a floater that you put in there before. (cough, cough, gag.)





_________________
"You can fill a horse with water, but you can't make him sink."



<font class=editedby>[ This Message was edited by: Nostradamus on 2002-06-29 22:01 ]</font>

<font class=editedby>[ This Message was edited by: JohnT on 2002-06-29 22:02 ]</font>

bob
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 7565
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Post by bob » 06/29/02, 2:22 pm

<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: "Blah, blah, blah. Look at my caps. Logged......get it. Log=wood=float."

I don't understand. Could you give more detail?</font></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode End -->
WYSIWTF

Dark Shadow
Senior Member (Entitled To Root Beer)
Senior Member (Entitled To Root Beer)
Posts: 860
Joined: 12/09/01, 12:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dark Shadow » 06/30/02, 1:27 am

Ok, I have two plugins on the MB. One runs at DMA 4, and the other is just DMA 2/40pin. I wanted an ATA card to speed up the second drive and to on the fly burning more safely. I finally gave up and installed BOTH drives onto my card. The thing blazes now, but I'm a lil concerned that there might be a bottleneck in the PCI slot... I'm checking into that now.

Umm, the IBM people were less then helpfull... they didn't tell me anything new, but I will agree... those jumper settings will make a sane man wish for death.

Both drives now run on DMA 5 and I have the primary that I want now. I don't understand what was wrong before, but I don't care anymore. Somethings are worth fighting for, and others, worth avoiding.

JohnT
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 2486
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: Vladivostok, Russia
Contact:

Post by JohnT » 06/30/02, 1:46 am

How new is your bios?
"A man may be a fool and not know it, but not if he is married."

JohnT
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 2486
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: Vladivostok, Russia
Contact:

Post by JohnT » 06/30/02, 1:48 am

<!-- BBCode Quote Start --><TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font class=postbody>Quote:</font><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT class=quote><BLOCKQUOTE>
On 2002-06-29 22:22, bob wrote:
<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: "Blah, blah, blah. Look at my caps. Logged......get it. Log=wood=float."

I don't understand. Could you give more detail?</font></td></tr></table><!-- BBCode End -->


</BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode Quote End -->

No.
"A man may be a fool and not know it, but not if he is married."

RedRage
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 1542
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am

Post by RedRage » 06/30/02, 5:10 am

In my Bios i can tell it where to boot from. I had to set mine to RAID when i moved my drives to the ATA100/RAID. It also has options for HDD0, HDD1, etc. When i play with those settings it changes wich drive is seen as C, perhaps your bios has the same options?

Gerry
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 5727
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by Gerry » 06/30/02, 5:18 am

<!-- BBCode Quote Start --><TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font class=postbody>Quote:</font><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT class=quote><BLOCKQUOTE>
On 2002-06-30 09:48, JohnT wrote:
<!-- BBCode Quote Start --><TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font class=postbody>Quote:</font><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT class=quote><BLOCKQUOTE>
On 2002-06-29 22:22, bob wrote:
<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: "Blah, blah, blah. Look at my caps. Logged......get it. Log=wood=float."

I don't understand. Could you give more detail?</font></td></tr></table><!-- BBCode End -->


</BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode Quote End -->No.</BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode Quote End --><!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: Yeah because the joke sucked :-)</font></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode End -->
I answer rhetorical questions for my own enjoyment.

Dark Shadow
Senior Member (Entitled To Root Beer)
Senior Member (Entitled To Root Beer)
Posts: 860
Joined: 12/09/01, 12:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dark Shadow » 06/30/02, 8:42 am

Naw, my bios sucks. It doesn't even have a password option.

bob
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
Posts: 7565
Joined: 12/03/01, 12:00 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Post by bob » 06/30/02, 8:52 am

<!-- BBCode Start --><TABLE bgColor=000000 cellPadding=5 width=400 border=1><TR><TD><FONT class="ot">OFF TOPIC: <!-- BBCode Quote Start --><TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font class=postbody>Quote:</font><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT class=quote><BLOCKQUOTE>because the joke sucked </BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR width=100% color=#333333 SIZE=1></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode Quote End -->


What joke? I don't get it...</font></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode End -->
WYSIWTF

Post Reply