Smart labels For Gmail

Hack your OS, customize your GUI, announce great software, and configure, configure, configure...

Smart labels For Gmail

Postby Don_U » 02/16/11, 11:31 pm

simple idea automate Gmail labels by syncing email addys
to them....is this already done?
I never look back, dahling, it distracts from the now -Edna Mode
Beware of men in white vans at the freeway off ramps selling discount America. It is defective,
contains lead, and is not made here.
Robotic Undertones
Don_U
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 08/03/09, 10:33 am
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.

Postby RedRage » 02/17/11, 5:00 am

it has labels but i have not used them for a few years to know whats going on with them
RedRage
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am

Postby Don_U » 02/17/11, 11:37 am

yeah I use labels all the time
I never look back, dahling, it distracts from the now -Edna Mode
Beware of men in white vans at the freeway off ramps selling discount America. It is defective,
contains lead, and is not made here.
Robotic Undertones
Don_U
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 08/03/09, 10:33 am
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.

Re: Smart labels For Gmail

Postby Gerry » 02/17/11, 5:55 pm

Don_U wrote:simple idea automate Gmail labels by syncing email addys
to them....is this already done?
I don't understand what you are asking for. You can filter emails from a particular user and have them tagged with a certain label if that's what you mean?
I answer rhetorical questions for my own enjoyment.
Gerry
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 5727
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby Don_U » 02/19/11, 12:00 am

when an email arrives it would auto label based on the email addy
I never look back, dahling, it distracts from the now -Edna Mode
Beware of men in white vans at the freeway off ramps selling discount America. It is defective,
contains lead, and is not made here.
Robotic Undertones
Don_U
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 08/03/09, 10:33 am
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.

Postby Gerry » 02/19/11, 8:49 pm

example?
I answer rhetorical questions for my own enjoyment.
Gerry
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 5727
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby RedRage » 02/20/11, 1:37 am

Don_U wrote:when an email arrives it would auto label based on the email addy


if i'm not mistaken that is what it does. I'm confused what you are looking for it to do?
RedRage
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am

Postby Don_U » 02/20/11, 6:18 pm

Its so obvious...LOL to further complicate it could also be based on a group of addys. Incredible, just incredible.
I never look back, dahling, it distracts from the now -Edna Mode
Beware of men in white vans at the freeway off ramps selling discount America. It is defective,
contains lead, and is not made here.
Robotic Undertones
Don_U
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 08/03/09, 10:33 am
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.

Postby RedRage » 02/20/11, 11:09 pm

I think I understand now. Here is how do make it do that.

Create your Label
Go to mail settings, click there gear on the top right
click filters
type in your filter settings (if you want all mail from the shellcity.net domain just type @shellcity.net in the from)
hit test to make sure it picks up any you currently have in your mail. it may take some fiddling with but you'll get it. once satisfied, click next.
check the box apply label, and select the label in the drop down menu
if you want it to filter your current mail and apply the label to anything you already have in your mail check the box that says "Also apply filter to xx conversations"
click create filter.

If you want the label to have multiple specific email addresses, create a filter for each one to point to the same label. It works. I did it for my former boss and employees. a long time ago.

It would be nice if there was a button or check box that said create filter when you make the label or something. Most people don't realize you have to filter.

going through this i realize i miss my Eudora 3 :-(
RedRage
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am

Postby Gerry » 02/21/11, 7:28 am

There's also this method, but the same thing in the end:
http://matthom.com/archive/2007/11/22/g ... like-these

However I mentioned this method in my first message and you responded like that wasn't what you wanted to do?
I answer rhetorical questions for my own enjoyment.
Gerry
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
BIG GIANT HEAD I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 5727
Joined: 12/04/01, 12:00 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby Don_U » 02/21/11, 9:20 am

THX Gerry, Red that's what I'm looking for and it works.

It does the Job as far as a result goes. I knew about filters but forgot about them because they are adjacent to the process of creating labels and not directly inline or a decedent of the process.
I never look back, dahling, it distracts from the now -Edna Mode
Beware of men in white vans at the freeway off ramps selling discount America. It is defective,
contains lead, and is not made here.
Robotic Undertones
Don_U
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
Senior Member I Get Free Beer
 
Posts: 766
Joined: 08/03/09, 10:33 am
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.


Return to Own The Machine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron